Monday, November 12, 2018
Central Library Ewald Library Woods Branch Central Library Ewald Library Woods Branch
Home | Author Archives: Priscilla Burns

Author Archives: Priscilla Burns

The Faygo Book by Joe Grimm

The Faygo Book is the story of a pop, a people, and a place. Its stories will tickle the taste buds and memories of Detroiters and Faygo lovers everywhere. This is the narrative of how a family forged a bond of more than 100 years with a city and its residents and became the last company standing in Detroit’s “pop ... Read More »

The Library Book by Susan Orlean

The Library Book by Susan Orlean Susan Orlean reopens the unsolved mystery of the most catastrophic library fire in American history, and delivers a dazzling love letter to a beloved institution–our libraries. Reserve this book.   Read More »

Wrecked by Joe Ide

Wrecked by Joe Ide When a young painter approaches Isaiah Quintable for help tracking down her missing mother, it’s not just the case IQ’s looking for, but the human connection. When his new confidant turns out to be connected to a dangerous paramilitary operation, IQ falls victim to a threat even a genius can’t see coming.  Book 3 in the ... Read More »

A Girl’s Guide to Missiles by Karen Piper

A Girl’s Guide to Missiles:  Growing Up in America’s Secret Desert by Karen Piper Piper (The Price of Thirst) chronicles her coming-of-age in this affecting memoir about growing up in the 1970s on a naval missile testing base in California’s Mojave Desert. . .Throughout Piper’s charming narrative looms the threat of nuclear war, Watergate, and concerns about UFOs. . . ... Read More »

Ghosted by Rosie Walsh

Ghosted by Rosie Walsh In Walsh’s American debut, a woman desperately tries to find out why the man she spent a whirlwind week with never called. . . A deeply moving romance with an intriguing mystery and a touching portrait of grief at its heart. A romantic, sad, and ultimately hopeful book that’s perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes. – ... Read More »

Music Streaming Update

Due to declining usage, the Library has discontinued the Freegal service. You can access music, movies, TV shows etc. with hoopla.  Please check it out and let us know what you think.  Here’s the link http://www.gp.lib.mi.us/elibrarian/ebooks-and-other-digital-collections/ Read More »

Bad Blood by John Carreyrou

Bad Blood: Secrets and Lies in a Silicon Valley Startup by John Carreyrou An investigative report on the downfall of multibillion-dollar Silicon Valley biotech startup Theranos. “Crime thriller authors have nothing on Carreyrou’s exquisite sense of suspenseful pacing and multifaceted character development in this riveting, read-in-one-sitting tour de force.”  Booklist Reserve this book.   Read More »

Lucky Boy by Shanti Sekaran

Lucky Boy by Shanti Sekaran Solimar Castro Valdez is uncertain of her future after slipping across the border and landing at a cousin’s in Berkeley, but she clings to her baby boy. When she is detained, the baby’s care falls to Kavya Reddy, who’s desperate to have a child. That puts the two women tragically in conflict. . . an ... Read More »

City of Gold

City of Gold Jonathan Gold, the Pulitzer Prize-winning Los Angeles Times restaurant critic who richly chronicled the L.A.’s vast culinary landscape and made its food understandable and approachable died last week at 57.  This 2015 documentary shows his unique approach, where ethnic cooking is a kaleidoscopic doorway to the mysteries of an unwieldy city and the soul of America. Reserve this ... Read More »

The Last Cruise by Kate Christensen

The Last Cruise by Kate Christensen PEN/Faulkner Award winner Christensen takes us on the final voyage of the 1950s-era ocean liner Queen Isabella, as guests nostalgically enjoy retro drinks and luscious jazz, with both cell phones and children banned. Belowdecks, tensions simmer among the crew, some of whom know the ship is creakier than it looks. – LJ Reviews Reserve ... Read More »