Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Central Library Ewald Library Woods Branch Central Library Ewald Library Woods Branch
Home | People Are Talking About:

People Are Talking About:

Books, Audiobooks, DVDs, and Music that are new to our collections or that are especially relevant to current events. Click on the titles for more information or to place a hold on the item.

A Girl’s Guide to Missiles by Karen Piper

A Girl’s Guide to Missiles:  Growing Up in America’s Secret Desert by Karen Piper Piper (The Price of Thirst) chronicles her coming-of-age in this affecting memoir about growing up in the 1970s on a naval missile testing base in California’s Mojave Desert. . .Throughout Piper’s charming narrative looms the threat of nuclear war, Watergate, and concerns about UFOs. . . ... Read More »

Ghosted by Rosie Walsh

Ghosted by Rosie Walsh In Walsh’s American debut, a woman desperately tries to find out why the man she spent a whirlwind week with never called. . . A deeply moving romance with an intriguing mystery and a touching portrait of grief at its heart. A romantic, sad, and ultimately hopeful book that’s perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes. – ... Read More »

Bad Blood by John Carreyrou

Bad Blood: Secrets and Lies in a Silicon Valley Startup by John Carreyrou An investigative report on the downfall of multibillion-dollar Silicon Valley biotech startup Theranos. “Crime thriller authors have nothing on Carreyrou’s exquisite sense of suspenseful pacing and multifaceted character development in this riveting, read-in-one-sitting tour de force.”  Booklist Reserve this book.   Read More »

Lucky Boy by Shanti Sekaran

Lucky Boy by Shanti Sekaran Solimar Castro Valdez is uncertain of her future after slipping across the border and landing at a cousin’s in Berkeley, but she clings to her baby boy. When she is detained, the baby’s care falls to Kavya Reddy, who’s desperate to have a child. That puts the two women tragically in conflict. . . an ... Read More »

The Last Cruise by Kate Christensen

The Last Cruise by Kate Christensen PEN/Faulkner Award winner Christensen takes us on the final voyage of the 1950s-era ocean liner Queen Isabella, as guests nostalgically enjoy retro drinks and luscious jazz, with both cell phones and children banned. Belowdecks, tensions simmer among the crew, some of whom know the ship is creakier than it looks. – LJ Reviews Reserve ... Read More »

What the Eyes Don’t See by Mona Hanna-Attisha

What the Eyes Don’t See:  a Story of Crisis, Resistance, and Hope in an American City by Mona Hanna-Attisha A firsthand account of the Flint water crisis by the pediatrician whose conviction and irrefutable research exposed it.  “A gripping, frequently shocking story of environmental injustice in 21st-century America.” – Library Journal Reserve This Book Read More »

Clock Dance by Anne Tyler

Clock Dance by Anne Tyler A charming new novel of self-discovery and second chances from the best-selling, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of A Spool of Blue Thread. Reserve this book. Read More »

The Feather Thief by Kirk Wallace Johnson

The Feather Thief : Beauty, Obsession, and the Natural History Heist of the Century by Kirk Wallace Johnson (An) enthralling account of a truly bizarre crime. In 2009, Edwin Rist, an American student at London’s Royal Academy of Music, stole 299 rare and scientifically significant bird skins from the Natural History Museum at Tring, in Hertfordshire, England, plucked their feathers, ... Read More »

The Mars Room by Rachel Kushner

The Mars Room by Rachel Kushner Two-time National Book Award finalist Kushner (The Flamethrowers) delivers a heartbreaking and unforgettable novel set in a California women’s prison. Single mother Romy Leslie Hall is serving two consecutive life sentences at the Stanville Women’s Correctional Facility after murdering a stalker. From prison, she narrates her drug-addled, hard-bitten past in San Francisco, where she ... Read More »