Tuesday, September 18, 2018
Central Library Ewald Library Woods Branch Central Library Ewald Library Woods Branch

Fiction

Ghosted by Rosie Walsh

Ghosted by Rosie Walsh In Walsh’s American debut, a woman desperately tries to find out why the man she spent a whirlwind week with never called. . . A deeply moving romance with an intriguing mystery and a touching portrait of grief at its heart. A romantic, sad, and ultimately hopeful book that’s perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes. – ... Read More »

Lucky Boy by Shanti Sekaran

Lucky Boy by Shanti Sekaran Solimar Castro Valdez is uncertain of her future after slipping across the border and landing at a cousin’s in Berkeley, but she clings to her baby boy. When she is detained, the baby’s care falls to Kavya Reddy, who’s desperate to have a child. That puts the two women tragically in conflict. . . an ... Read More »

The Last Cruise by Kate Christensen

The Last Cruise by Kate Christensen PEN/Faulkner Award winner Christensen takes us on the final voyage of the 1950s-era ocean liner Queen Isabella, as guests nostalgically enjoy retro drinks and luscious jazz, with both cell phones and children banned. Belowdecks, tensions simmer among the crew, some of whom know the ship is creakier than it looks. – LJ Reviews Reserve ... Read More »

Clock Dance by Anne Tyler

Clock Dance by Anne Tyler A charming new novel of self-discovery and second chances from the best-selling, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of A Spool of Blue Thread. Reserve this book. Read More »

The Mars Room by Rachel Kushner

The Mars Room by Rachel Kushner Two-time National Book Award finalist Kushner (The Flamethrowers) delivers a heartbreaking and unforgettable novel set in a California women’s prison. Single mother Romy Leslie Hall is serving two consecutive life sentences at the Stanville Women’s Correctional Facility after murdering a stalker. From prison, she narrates her drug-addled, hard-bitten past in San Francisco, where she ... Read More »

Love and Ruin by Paula McLain

Love and Ruin by Paula McLain The author of The Paris Wife returns to the subject of Ernest Hemingway in a novel about his passionate, stormy marriage to Martha Gellhorn–a fiercely independent, ambitious young woman who would become one of the greatest war correspondents of the twentieth century. Reserve this Book.   Read More »

You Think It I’ll Say It: Stories by Curtis Sittenfeld

You Think It I’ll Say It: Stories by Curtis Sittenfeld Sittenfeld, author of five novels, including American Wife (2008) and Eligible (2016), shares 10 entertaining stories of everyday revelations of the human experience. Strongly voiced women and men try to gauge their place in the order of things and attempt to pin down others’ perceptions of them, all in spite ... Read More »

Tangerine by Christine Mangan

Tangerine by Christine Mangan The spirit of Patricia Highsmith’s sociopathic social climber Tom Ripley is alive in Mangan’s transportive debut. Alice Shipley and Lucy Mason met as freshman at Bennington in the early 1950s and became the best of friends. Now, after a year apart, they meet again in 1956 in Tangier, where Alice and her new husband, John McAllister, ... Read More »

Less by Andrew Sean Greer

Less by Andrew Sean Greer Winner of the Pulitzer Prize for Literature. With the touching and very funny story of Arthur Less, author Andrew Sean Greer ( The Confessions of Max Tivoli ) takes readers on an around-the-world tour, leaping from Mexico City to Berlin, from Marrakech to Kyoto, in a grand midlife adventure of the heart.  Gay novelist Less-like anyone ... Read More »