Grosse Pointe Public Library
Online Magazines and Databases
Most of the following resources are In-House, and may only be accessed
within the Library, but many of them are free and can be accessed from home. You
must
be on a library computer to access
the paid subscription resources. To access some of these sites you may
need to type in your library card bar code number, State of Michigan ID
number or driver's license number. Click here
for instructions how to access the GPPL databases.
Research Pro
Search across multiple databases, websites, and
catalogs selected by the library to find full-text articles, abstracts,
images, books, and other resources. You will need your library card
number to access these databases.
|
Gale PowerSearch it!
Search all Gale databases subscribed to by the library.
|
|
|
AUTOMOTIVE
Top of page
|
|
CHILTON
Online Auto Repair Manuals
(Inside library, use this link. Chilton Auto Library.
Diagnostics, step-by-step repair procedures, maintenance
schedules, wiring diagrams, recalls, and technical service bulletins.
Free to residents of the State of Michigan.)
CHILTON Online Auto Repair Manuals
(From home, use this link. Chilton Auto Library.
Diagnostics, step-by-step repair procedures, maintenance
schedules, wiring diagrams, recalls, and technical service bulletins.
Free to residents of the State of Michigan.
Library card number, driver's
license, or Michigan ID number are required to log into this database.)
Click here for
a tutorial
Autotropolis
(Get
help researching new and used cars, trucks, and SUVs with
shopping tools, buyers guides, and auto related articles. Free.) |
| |
BIOGRAPHY
Top of page
|
|
Biography and Genealogy
Master Index
(Inside library,
use this link.
Search for information about people, living and deceased, from every
field of activity and from all over the world.
Thomson Gale InfoTrac.
Subscription.)
Biography and Genealogy
Master Index
(From home, use
this link.
Search for information about people, living and deceased, from every field
of activity and from all over the world.
Free to residents
of the State of Michigan.
Library card number, driver's
license, or Michigan ID number are required to log into this database.) |
|
Biography Index
(Inside library only.
Biographical information from periodicals, books, autobiographies, for
biographical subjects from antiquity to present. Includes individual and
collective biographies from all fields and nationalities.
OCLC
FirstSearch.
Subscription.) |
Current Biography
(Inside
library only.
More than 15,000
full text biographies and more than 9,400 obituaries from Current
Biography Yearbook 1940 to present.
Profiles give users the information they want on celebrities,
politicians, business people, writers, actors, sports figures, artists,
scientists, and many others.
Wilson Web.
Subscription.) |
|
BOOKS &
AUTHORS
Top of page
|
|
Book Review Digest
(Inside
library only.
Reviews of current English-language fiction and nonfiction books, periodicals
published in United States, Canada, and Great Britain. Includes only reviews
that have appeared within 18 months of the book's publication.
OCLC
FirstSearch.
Subscription.) |
eBooks
(Downloadable eBooks and Audio books.
Michigan Library
Consortium.
Download fiction and nonfiction books, and videos to your computer or
mobile device such as iPod, Creative ZEN, or other portable reading
devices. You will need to
enter your library card number to check out eBooks.) |
|
Library Literature
(Inside
library only.
Materials on
library and information science, conference proceedings, library school
theses, pamphlets, and book reviews.
OCLC
FirstSearch.
Subscription.)
| |